DST-Centre for Policy Research

The Department of Science and Technology (DST), under the Ministry of Science of Science &Technology Government of India is mandated to develop and deliver public policy support for the promotion of research and development in the country. The Department is engaging itself in periodical dialogues and discussions with stakeholders, national and international experts and others to develop policy related papers. Global experience has shown that policy drivers influence the national capacities to gain competitiveness in the science, technology and innovation sector. Interconnections between knowledge and economy are emerging string globally. Policy research for a development sector like science and technology is becoming a National need. DST had established a dedicated “Policy Research Cell” which is actively engaged in to implementation of the measures and mechanisms contained in the Science Technology & Innovation Policy. Major objectives of the Policy Research include preparation of study reports on Science, Technology and Innovation.

The DST had established five Centres for Policy Research (CPR) at Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, Panjab University, Chandigarh, Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar (Central) University (BBAU), Lucknow, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and Entrepreneurship Development Institute of India (EDII), Ahmadabad. The above DST-CPR are expected to serve as a knowledge partner of DST in the development of (a) Human capacity for science policy research, (b) Policy papers for wider study among the stack holders and (c) Enabling tools for the implementation mechanism for STI policy. Policy Research Cell had initiated STI Fellowships at post-doctoral level to generate a critical mass of policy researchers in the country. The DST-STI Policy Fellowship Program provides an opportunity to develop the skills for young scientists and engineers who are interested in engagement with the STI policy domain and/or as STI policy researchers.

View more details